What are the parts of Medicare?

Medicare is the federal health insurance program for:

-People who are 65 or older

-Certain younger people with disabilities

-People with End-Stage Renal Disease

The different parts of Medicare help cover specific services.

Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance): Part A covers inpatient hospital stays, care in a skilled nursing facility, hospice care, and some health.

Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance): Part B covers certain doctors’ services, outpatient care, medical supplies, and preventative services.

Medicare Part D (Prescription Drug Coverage): Helps cover the cost of prescription drugs (including many recommended shots or vaccines).

With Medicare, you have options on how you get coverage. There are two main ways:

Original Medicare: Original Medicare pays for much, but not all, of the cost for covered healthcare services and supplies.

Medicare Advantage: Medicare Advantage is an “all in one” alternative to Original Medicare. These “bundled” plans include Part A, Part B, and usually Part D.

It’s important to get to know more about Medicare options before you decide how to receive your coverage. More detailed information on Medicare can be found at Medicare.gov

Posted in Press Releases.